Equality, Diversity & Inclusion


LYIT is a welcoming, respectful, supportive and inclusive institution which commits to enhancing equality, diversity and inclusion for all our students and staff.  We promote equality of opportunity amongst the wider community we serve and work as a trusted partner in inclusion and diversity. 

Click here to read the EDI Policy.

 LYIT commits to:

  • A progressive approach to equality, diversity and inclusion to ensure that we have appropriately informed institute policy and practice taking advantage of our positive ethos to become an exemplar higher education institution in this regard
  • Widening participation to and enhancing success in higher education from students from underrepresented groups
  • The provision of staff development for all academic and professional, management and support services staff which supports equality, diversity and inclusion, including leadership development

LYIT’s Athena SWAN Institutional Bronze Application

LYIT submission for the Athena SWAN institutional bronze (expanded charter) was received by Athena SWAN Ireland on 18 December 2020. The submission is a significant milestone in the institution's commitment to gender equality and was developed following extensive data capture and analysis by staff and students across the institution. The submission contains a Gender Equality Action Plan which is a roadmap towards greater equality for all our staff and students. LYIT's Self-Assessment Team and Steering Group reflect on the importance of the Athena SWAN submission and how it will improve gender equality in LYIT

A message from the LYIT Athena Swan Self-Assessment Team


Members of the LYIT Athena SWAN Gender Equality Steering Group: John Andy Bonar, VP for Research, Equality and External Affairs; Dr Lynn Ramsey, Director of Equality, Diversity & Inclusion; Helen McGrandles, Human Resources Manager; and Paul Hannigan-President.


Members of the Athena SWAN SAT Team

Athena SWAN at LYIT

LYIT is a signatory to the Athena SWAN Charter and is working to prepare an application for an Institutional Athena SWAN Bronze Award under the Expanded Charter. This award recognises a solid foundation for eliminating gender bias and developing an inclusive culture that values all staff. This will require LYIT to demonstrate an assessment of gender equality in the institution and development of a four-year plan that builds on this assessment. LYIT has established an Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team.  The Self-Assessment Team (SAT) will undertake a thorough self-assessment within the organisation.


Letterkenny Institute of Technology Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team

Steering Group

Paul Hannigan

President (Chair)

Dr Lynn Ramsey

Director of Equality, Diversity & Inclusion (Deputy Chair)

Helen McGrandles

Human Resources Manager

John Andy Bonar

VP for Research, Equality & External Affairs

Self-Assessment Team Members

Working Group 1: Data Collection and Analysis

Dr Nicola Anderson

Lecturer in Department of Civil Engineering & Construction (Chair- WG1)

Dr Eílis Flanagan

Researcher in Teaching, Learning & Student Engagement (Deputy Chair WG1)

Dr Jim Morrison,

Head of Department of Civil Engineering & Construction

Dr Simon Stephens

SL1 Department of Business Studies

Dr Lydia Devenney

Researcher in Teaching, Learning & Student Engagement

Working Group 2: Career Transition Points and Career Development

Dr Padraig Gallagher

Head of Research & Innovation (Chair- WG2)

Ann Marie Kelly

Academic Affairs & Registrar - Staff Officer (Deputy Chair-WG2)

Una Mc Menamin

Human Resources - Assistant Staff Officer

Dr Gertie Taggart

Head of School of Science

Rory McMorrow

Admissions - Senior Staff Officer

Working Group 3: Flexible Working and Managing Career Breaks

Dr Nigel McKelvey

Head of Flexible & Online Learning (Chair-WG3)

Linda McGlinchey

Human Resources - Senior Staff Officer (Deputy Chair-WG3)

Patricia Doherty

Head of Department of Business

Sheila Giblin

Teaching Learning & Student Engagement Officer

Paul Toner

Project Accountant

Working Group 4: Organisation and Culture

Ruth Lennon

Lecturer in Department of Computing (Chair-WG4)

Maurice Murray

Lecturer - Department of Nursing & Health & Social Care (Deputy Chair-WG4)

Jihane Amin

Undergraduate Student in Business Studies

Gerry McKelvey

Maintenance Manager

Bronagh Heverin

Lecturer - Department of Law & Humanities

Working Group 5: Supporting Trans People and Intersectionality

Cormac O’Kane

Lecturer in Department of Design (Chair-WG5)

John McGarvey

Lecturer in Department of Computing (Deputy Chair-WG5)

Dorothy Bird

Lecturer in Department of Hospitality, Tourism & Culinary Arts

Siobhan Cullen

Head of Department of Law & Humanities

Siobhan Howe

Students’ Union President 2019/2020

Adam O’Flaherty

Education/Communication 2019/2020

Working Group 6: Communications

Fiona Kelly

Schools Engagement & RPL Officer (Chair-WG6)

Paul McLaughlin

Technician - Department of Civil Engineering & Construction (Deputy Chair-WG6)

Rosemary Dewhirst

Lecturer in School of Tourism

Marty Gillespie

Technician - Computer Services

Debashish Roy

Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence Research