New Entrant Sports Scholarships awarded at LYIT

New Entrant Sports Scholarships awarded at LYIT

News, Student News, Staff News / Thursday 10 December 2020

Nineteen scholarships awarded

LYIT made presentations to nineteen New Entrant Sport Scholars on Friday, 4 December 2020.  

Those awarded the scholarship, which is worth €1,000 to each successful applicant, were selected from the current academic group of new entrant students in recognition of their performance and achievement in either GAA at Intercounty level, Soccer at League of Ireland level, or Basketball at International Underage level.  

The New Entrant Sports Scholarship Programme is also linked to the main Sports Scholarship Programme in the Institute.  These scholarships are awarded in February of each year.

The winning New Entrant Sports Scholarships students for this year are:

  • Luke Cassidy, Letterkenny
  • Max Leadley, Letterkenny
Gaelic Football
  • Eimear Alcorn, Termon
  • Claire Doherty, Letterkenny
  • Leah Gallen, Ballybofey
  • Megan Havlin, Moville
  • Sasha Lavin, Co Roscommon
  • Sean Doherty, Buncrana
  • Dylan Dorrian, Milford
  • Eoin Dowling, Letterkenny
  • Keelan Dunleavy, Letterkenny
  • Jack Gallagher, Churchill
  • Liam Gaughan, Co Sligo
  • Rory O’Donnell, Milford
  • Kieran Tobin, Letterkenny
  • Emer O’Neill, Co Mayo
  • Conor Black, Kilmacrennan
  • Stephen Black, Kilmacrennan
  • Oran Brogan, Letterkenny

Paul Hannigan, LYIT President. congratulated all those who received scholarships at this time and welcomed them to the Institute, hoping that their time here would be valuable both in academic and sporting terms. 

Click here to see the award winners.


Latest News