Sports Scholarships awarded at LYIT

Sports Scholarships awarded at LYIT

News, Student News, Staff News / Wednesday 27 October 2021

Delight as Twenty-six New Sports Scholars announced

Letterkenny Institute of Technology (LYIT) made presentations to 26 New Sport Scholars on Thursday, 21 October. This represents a continued growth in the number of sport scholarships awarded to incoming LYIT students. 

LYIT’s Sports Scholarship programme includes the New Entrant Scholarship Programme, the LYIT/GPA (Gaelic Players’ Association) Postgraduate Scholarship Programme, and the International Basketball Scholarship Programmes.  This year, 20 New Entrant Scholarships were awarded, with each recipient receiving a financial bursary and a range of other sporting and academic supports.  Successful candidates were selected from a large pool of applicants in recognition of their performance and achievement in a wide variety of team and individual sports including Soccer, GAA, Basketball, Athletics and Karate.

LYIT/GPA Scholars

Leo McLoone and Aoife McColgan (both MSc in Sports Performance students) were recipients of the new LYIT/GPA Postgraduate Scholarship.  This scholarship grants a fully funded, postgraduate place to successful male and female members of the GPA who wish to study at LYIT.

International Basketball Scholars

The Sports Scholarship presentation also recognised four International Basketball Scholarship students from the US and the UK - Calvin Whipple, Emmanuel Abimbola, NaKeeya Goodman-Boddie and Janelle Mullen.  These scholars will participate for the LYIT College and the LYIT Donegal Basketball National League teams.

Paul Hannigan, LYIT President, congratulated all those who received scholarships at this time and welcomed them to the Institute, hoping that their time here would be valuable both in academic and sporting terms. 

The New Entrant Sports Scholarships students for this year are:

Men’s Basketball:
Tobi Akinyimika - BEng in Electronic Engineering

Men’s Soccer
Adam McCaffrey - HC Sports Studies
Eoin Logue - BSc (Hons) Sports
Michael Harris - BSc (Hons) Sports
Shaun McDermott - HC Sports Studies
Fionnan Coyle - HC Sports Studies
Dylan Woods – Bachelor of Business (Hons)

Ladies Soccer
Catherine Grier - BSc (Hons) in Agriculture
Ciara McGarvey - HC Physiotherapy Studies 

Ladies Athletics
Niamh Moohan - HC Physiotherapy Studies

Ladies Karate
Hollie Marie Gallagher - BA (Hons) Design
Emma Dolan - HC Dietetics Studies

Men’s Gaelic Football
Carlos O’Reilly -Bachelor of Business
Conor Og Dennedy - BSc (Hons) Sports
Eoin de Burca - BSc (Hons) Architectural Technology
Daniel Gildea - BSc (Hons) Architectural Technology
Daithi Og Roberts - BSc (Hons) Architectural Technology
Caolan Ward - BSc (Hons) Sport & Exercise Physical Education

Ladies Gaelic Football
Aimee McIntyre - HC Dietetics Studies

Men’s Hurling
Oisin Marley - BSc Quantity Surveying

The LYIT/GPA Scholarships students for this year are:

Leo McLoone – MSc in Sports Performance
Aoife McColgan - MSc in Sports Performance

The LYIT International Basketball Scholarships students for this year are:

Calvin Whipple - MSc in Sports Performance
Emmanuel Abimbola - MSc in Sports Performance
NaKeeya Goodman-Boddie - Bachelor of Business Management
Janelle Mullen - PGDip Cybersecurity.

New Entrant Sports Scholars from the Faculty of Business

New Entrant Sports Scholars from the Faculty of Engineering & Technology

New Entrant Sports Scholars from the Faculty of Science & Health


Latest News